Week 10

August 19 – Well, today was my last week and I planned to spend as much time at KSBY as I could, trying to get the most out of my last week of interning. I arrived at 9am on tuesday and helped Mike produce for as long as I could until work. Here are some of the things I wrote:

  • Insect Eating

    SWARMS OF PEOPLE IN JAPAN ARE BROADENING THEIR TASTE BUDS AT AN INSECT EATING CLUB IN TOKYO.
          THE MENU INCLUDES FRIED CICADAS… WASP LARVAE RICE… AND SMOKED CICADA NYMPHS.
         THE INSECT-EATING FAD BEGAN EARLIER LAST YEAR WHEN THE FOOD AND AGRICULTURE ORGANIZATION POINTED OUT THEIR VARIOUS NUTRITIONAL BENEFITS.
         MANY INSECTS CONTAIN THE SAME AMOUNT OF PROTEIN AND MINERALS AS MEAT… AS WELL AS HEALTHY FATS DOCTORS RECOMMEND IN BALANCED DIETS.
         THE CLUB HAS BEEN SERVING INSECTS SINCE 1999 AND HOSTS SEVERAL FEASTS THROUGHOUT THE YEAR.
         ###

  • Ebola Death Toll

    THE WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION ANNOUNCED TODAY THE EBOLA DEATH TOLL HAS TOPPED 12-HUNDRED PEOPLE.
         MORE THAN TWO-THOUSAND HAVE BEEN DIAGNOSED ACROSS FOUR WEST AFRICAN COUNTRIES.
         AT LEAST FOUR PATIENTS WHO WERE CONFIRMED AS HAVING EBOLA ARE NOW DISEASE-FREE AFTER UNDERGOING TREATMENT.
         THE FEAR OF OUTBREAK CONTINUES AROUND THE WORLD.
         OFFICIALS IN NIGERIA AND GUINEA SAY THEY’RE TAKING ALL PRECAUTIONS NECESSARY TO PREVENT THE SPREAD OF THE DISEASE.

    ###

  • Israel Gaza Update

     IN NEWS AROUND THE WORLD..
         THE ISRAELI MILITARY CONTINUES TO POUND TARGETS LOCATED INSIDE THE GAZA STRIP TODAY. 
          HUGE BALLS OF FLAME WERE SEEN RISING AFTER MISSILES STRUCK LOCATIONS ACROSS THE PALESTINIAN TERRITORY.
         FIGHTING RESUMED LATE YESTERDAY AFTER EGYPTIAN EFFORTS  COLLAPSED TO MEDIATE A LASTING TRUCE IN THE MONTH-LONG GAZA WAR.
         PALESTINIAN OFFICIALS SAY AT LEAST 20 PALESTINIANS HAVE BEEN KILLED AND MORE THAN 120 HAVE BEEN WOUNDED JUST SINCE THE TRUCE COLLAPSED.
         ###

  • French Hospital Groundbreaking (hyperlink to online story)
  • Army Golden Knights (hyperlink to online story)

As much as I wanted to stay and booth the show, I had to leave after writing bumps and teases for work. But I had plans to booth the show later that week.

 

August 20 – Today I had the whole day to spend at KSBY. Connie and I did a story on the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge from the angle of ‘the power of social media.’ We spoke to the CEO of Verin Marketing about her thoughts on the challenge and how social media has influenced it’s growth. The basic conclusion was that ALS really hit it on the nose with this one. They used social media to it’s utmost potential and have raised so much awareness and money through it’s power. Then, as a stand-up in her package, Connie did the ice bucket challenge and nominated the anchor, Jeanette. It was a fun day at the office, pouring buckets of ice water on everyone’s head. I was glad I was there for all that. I helped Mike booth the show at 5 but left during the last commercial break to pour ice water on the anchor John’s head as well. 

 

August 21 – My last day! I worked all morning so I didn’t get to KSBY until around 3pm. It wasn’t a lot of time but I just wanted one last chance to produce a show so I got there just in time to write some bumps. Then I helped Kathy with the Puppy pet tales and the Woods Humane Society brought in chihuahua-Doxin, 3-month-old puppies. It was a real treat to spend the afternoon with them. I boothed the show at 5, said my goodbyes and promised I’d be back to visit and hopefully intern again in the winter or spring!

 

I learned so much during the internship. It was really great getting to see what my future career path will look like in motion. I could see myself in so many different positions in a newsroom. Definitely either reporting or producing were my favorites. All the KSBY employees are so nice and helpful, I was lucky to be studying under them. A special thanks to Connie, for letting me trudge along with her on countless stories, and Mike, for giving me so much of the reigns during the show and trusting I wouldn’t get you fired. 🙂 Thanks for everything, and I can’t wait to come back!

 

 

Leave a Reply

